Technology for most of the science students is an obsession. And due to an overdose of the English sci-fi movies, they almost eat tech, think tech and sleep tech. There is one more thing which is very common among them – there dearest language – “The tech-speak”.
So there is one such techie in my class who always appears peering in some or the other book from behind his huge glasses. Being a book-worm he does excellently well in theories but is notorious for messing up things in practicals and vivas.
One day when I saw him sittin’ nervously in a corner of the classroom before the prac. Exam I asked him what was the problem. The answer that he gave me was –
“In my case, the degree of nervousness is directly proportional to the nearing of prac exams, confusion being the constant of proportionality. And due to excessive collision of thoughts occurring in my mind, the net impact of studies in the vivas is nullified. The resultant intensity of the teacher’s fury is amplified causing too much wear and tear on my emotional structure.”
However teachers don’t complain much about this chap. May be because he always has those imagine-if-there-were-no-hypothetical-situations sort of ideas to share with the teachers. About him the teachers say, “Intelligent children, at times, can be a bit temperamental.” Certainly, they don’t have this problem with me!!!!!!!!!!
- KETKI
Sunday, August 06, 2006
The Tech-speak
Posted by
ketki
at
8/06/2006 10:34:00 AM
37
comments
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

37 comments:
This guy u've described sounds more confused than brainy !!..better get him some help!!..neways nice description !!
very interesting - you brought me nostaligai. for a moment okie htough not to this level of tech.. fine. remainded me the days of my practical days. i wont do practicals. i will learn only one expreiment and only that expeirment should come to me. all my friends should talently shoudl take the expreiment sheet of other experiemtns leaving the one for me only to chose. heiehi ofcourse lab assistance always came to rescue to tell me which sheet is set for me.. so the front guys when they take the papers looks at me and say which sheet they took and i know which sheet i mine.. heiehe
but at one test - one guy who had fight me teh day before exam purposefully get me in trouble gave a indication of which paper he took - i end up the experiemtn that necer i had been aware practially but theoretically...
that day was fun at lab. - i was just made pass by externally viva - HOD need to come to rescue me with soem reason why i was a failure for that experiments
fun... poor fellow the guy who tricked me came back again to me before the theory.. he had his time.. but went with smile after teh exam.. as i gave him my answer sheet..
you brought my old days. thanks buddy.
hey just linked u r blog to My Blog
Hint Hint !
@ Shikha,
I tried to help that guy out but all in vain. u c tyhese techie guys are so very much like inert elements! They dont eaisily react to others advice!
@ known stranger,
well....i m worse than anybody in pracs.
The only reason my report card looks not-too-bad is that my prac sheets are nothing but mathematical manupulations!
whoa! tht dude has a serious disorder
i wonder how u could remember those sentences he blurted out.. smart gal u r
i also had a few fellows who were bookworm kinda in class..
Oospy! God help him!
so sweet!...i dont know how u manage to write all this...
i too want to learn writing style from ur posts :-)
hi ketki,
its an honour to recieve a visitor everytime. thanks a lot for that.btw i just scrambled through your archives. and happy raksha bandhan.
Tech lang has always helped me…
During my college time, in viva / exam, whenever I had some doubt about the question I used to use all those technical jargons and it helped me.
And even today when somebody (junior/senior) ask me some question I take help of such jargons…
:):)
so njoy!!! n keep blogging...
yeah.. sure i can help ya...just
Click here and download the code.
@has to be me,
I too hpoe god helps him!
@ sudeep,
oh common now this is awork of fiction ! i dont have any such person in my class! just my imagination!
@ tarun,
thanx a ton!!!!!!!!!!
@ endevour me,
gosh! i m myself learning frm others how to write!
@nabeel,
thanx a lot and happy raksha bandhan to u too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
:)
@ dh@v@l,
another techie!!!!!!!!!!!
i wonder how do people manage to use those jaw breaking words frm the science dictionary everytime!!!!!!!!!!
he bhagwaan...this guy must be crazy..
btw..read ur previous post..the last line was a damn punch line :-)
hahahah! U're right!! these brains can never jell wit ordinary mortals like us
and belated frenship day wishes! :) :) forgot to mention-this post is short and very sweet
Thank you for stopping by my blog and please come again. You have a nice blog here. will definitely come back for more.enjoyed this post.
Not an obsession that can be rid of.
I think maybe you caught him at the wrong time. As a member of the much maligned 'techie species', my guess is he was probably nervous and fumbled because you asked him about it.
In any event, someone who's bad at pracs does not a techie make, in my books.
@ karthika,
thanx fo the comment as well as the wishes
@starry nights,
do visit again
@ anil p,
icompletely agree with u
@ jim
i call him a techie coz he is very much obsessed with with technology!!!!!!!!!!
you have interesting things to say.keep up the good work.thanx for visiting my blog
hey u reminded me of guy in my class... he also used to give tech funda for almost every thing...
Hehe .. this guy seems really interesting. Usually such people are short-sighted and have a heavy pair of soda glasses sitting on their nose ..
I recently got my own glasses n I'm worried abt this "studious" tag ..also coz I love flauting my limited vocab.
Intersting blogs here :)
Wow!! This guy is a geek-god of some sort. I can be a geek too at times but not this geeky... :P
I have a regular blog too at seventeentomatoes.rediffblogs.com
hahahaha.. every class has atleast two people like this i guess..
@ hip grand ma,
thanx 4 visitin' my blog!
@ pratika gupta,
thesedays u get to see techies almost everywhere!!!!!!!!!!
@ aria,
I too hve glasses but in no angle i look studious!
@ ricky,
would definitely vist ur bolg on rediff!
@ its me,
let me clear i dont have any such boy in my class - its just my imagination!!!!!!!!!!
I think you are one of the youngest bloggers who write so well. Keep writing, Ketki.
hieh manipulation - report card - heoheie i dont depend on the practical marks - i believe in my own manipulations in report card. ah dha ah
@ anumita,
i m one of the youngest. but i doubt it if i write well!
thanx 4 the compliment!!!!!!
@ known stranger,
manipulations in report card???????????
gr8 yaar!
but i ve never tried this!!!!!!!!
Sure he is a techie? He sounds like a philosopher..
Art Critic 1: "I think the neo-plasticism of the abstract design proves the mystical, metaphysical and non-humanistic approach to the objective concept of abstraction."
Art Critic 2: "Yes, you have a point there! In fact, it's obvious even from a casual glance that this painting was created by paranoiac-critical activity, brought about by spontaneous dynamic sensations, sometimes made by somnambulistically inclined campanologists, who create a picture of transcendental non-curvilinear objects expressing subjective feelings in a cubistic manner."
Art Critic 3: "I fully agree with you both - It is a rubbish painting!"
Something like that.
best site
best site
best stie
best saite
Post a Comment